Sylvia Townsend Warner--A BBC Radio Collection

audiobook (Unabridged) Including Lolly Willowes & The True Heart

By Sylvia Townsend Warner

cover image of Sylvia Townsend Warner--A BBC Radio Collection
Audiobook icon Visual indication that the title is an audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


BBC radio productions of the works of Sylvia Townsend Warner - plus bonus programmes about the author herself
Sylvia Townsend Warner was a prolific author of novels, short stories and poetry, who also wrote a biography of T. H. White, translated Proust and was an authority on Tudor church music. A sharp, insightful storyteller, she was one of the 20th Century's most acute observers of English mores, and her work is infused with subversive themes reflecting her feminist and Marxist views.
This comprehensive anthology includes dramatisations of her two best-known novels, beginning with her 1926 debut, Lolly Willowes, which was shortlisted for the Prix Femina and launched her literary career. Louise Brealey stars in this joyously comic tale of a respectable, middle-class spinster who finally finds fulfilment in life by taking up witchcraft.
Next up is The True Heart, an imaginative retelling of the Cupid and Psyche myth. Set in 1873, it tells the story of orphaned maidservant Sukey, who falls in love, but is cruelly parted from her beloved. Believing that only Queen Victoria can help, she sets off on a heroic journey to see her... Tilly Vosburgh stars, with Mick Ford and Theresa Streatfeild.
These are followed by three short stories: 'The Proper Circumstances' (read by Joanna McCallum), 'One Thing Leading to Another' (read by Margaret Tyzack) and 'Oxenhope' (read by Edward Petherbridge). Also featured is the Radio 4 series Stories of Sylvia Townsend Warner, comprising five short tales - 'Flora', 'A Scent of Roses', 'English Mosaic', 'Furnivall's Hoopoe' and 'The Listening Woman' - all read by Penelope Wilton.
Concluding our collection are two bonus programmes: Comrade Ackland and I, Frances Bingham's original drama based on the true story of Sylvia Townsend Warner and her partner, poet Valentine Ackland; and The Diaries of Sylvia Townsend Warner, in which Irene Sutcliffe reads five extracts from the journal kept by the novelist from 1927 to her death in 1978.
Lolly Willowes
The True Heart
'The Proper Circumstances'
'One Thing Leading to Another'
'A Scent of Roses'
'English Mosaic'
'Furnivall's Hoopoe'
'The Listening Woman'
Comrade Ackland and I
The Diaries of Sylvia Townsend Warner
First published 1926 (Lolly Willowes), 1929 (The True Heart), 1944 ('The Proper Circumstances'), 1962 ('One Thing Leading to Another'), 1964 ('English Mosaic'), 1966 ('Oxenhope'), 1969 ('Furnivall's Hoopoe), 1972 ('A Scent of Roses', 'The Listening Woman'), 1977 ('Flora')
© 2022 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P) 2022 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

Sylvia Townsend Warner--A BBC Radio Collection