cover image of The Body Has a Mind of Its Own

The Body Has a Mind of Its Own

How Body Maps in Your Brain Help You Do (Almost) Everything Better

by Matthew Blakeslee Author · Sandra Blakeslee Author

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Why do you still feel fat after losing weight? Why do you duck your head when you drive into an underground parking garage? Why are your kids so enthralled by video games?

The answers to these questions can be found in a new understanding of how your brain interacts with your body, the space around your body, and the social world. Every point on your body, each internal organ, and every point in space out to the end of your fingertips is mapped inside your brain. Your ability to sense, move, and act in the physical world arises from a rich network of flexible body maps distributed throughout your brain.

The science of body maps has far-reaching applications. It can help people lose weight, improve their ability to play a sport, or assist recovery from stroke. It points the way to new treatments for anorexia and phantom limbs. It helps explain out-of-body experiences, auras, placebos, and healing touch. It provides a new way to understand human emotions from love to hate, lust to disgust, pride to humiliation.

With scientific discoveries from every corner of the globe, Sandra and Matthew Blakeslee have written a compelling narrative that is positively mind-bending and that will appeal to readers of Sharon Begley's Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Tantor Media, Inc.
Imprint:
Tantor Audio
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2007

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 247.7 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 247.4 MB

Matthew Blakeslee (Author)

Matthew Blakeslee is a freelance science writer based in Los Angeles.

More about Matthew Blakeslee

Sandra Blakeslee (Author)

Sandra Blakeslee is a science correspondent at the New York Times who specializes in the brain sciences.

More about Sandra Blakeslee
The Body Has a Mind of Its Own
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free