Delphi Complete Works of Arthur Ransome Illustrated

ebook Delphi Series Thirteen

By Arthur Ransome

cover image of Delphi Complete Works of Arthur Ransome Illustrated

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


The English interwar writer Arthur Ransome, best known for the 'Swallows and Amazons' children's books, is noted for popularising the pattern for "holiday adventure" stories. A writer of various genres, his first success, 'Bohemia in London', is a partly autobiographical account of his early days. He also published a noted general 'History of Story-Telling', as well as landmark critical works on Edgar Allan Poe and Oscar Wilde. During the Great War, Ransome worked as a war correspondent in Russia, where he studied native folktales, which he retold for children. He also wrote extensively about his passion of angling, producing the seminal work in its field, 'Rod and Line'. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Ransome's complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Ransome's life and works
* Concise introductions to the major works
* All the 'Swallows and Amazons' novels, with individual contents tables
* Includes Ransome's original illustrations to the novels
* Many rare texts appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare short stories available in no other collection
* Includes Ransome's rare non-fiction works
* Features the celebrated autobiography – discover Ransome's intriguing life
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Swallows and Amazons Books
Swallows and Amazons (1930)
Swallowdale (1931)
Peter Duck (1932)
Winter Holiday (1933)
Coot Club (1934)
Pigeon Post (1936)
We Didn't Mean To Go To Sea (1937)
Secret Water (1939)
The Big Six (1940)
Missee Lee (1941)
The Picts and the Martyrs (1943)
Great Northern? (1947)

Other Children's Books
The Child's Book of the Seasons (1906)
Pond and Stream (1906)
The Things in our Garden (1906)
The Hoofmarks of the Faun (1911)
Old Peter's Russian Tales (1916)
Aladdin and his Wonderful Lamp in Rhyme (1920)
The Soldier and Death (1922)

The Horror Novel
The Elixir of Life (1915)

The Short Stories
Miscellaneous Stories

The Non-Fiction
The Souls of the Streets and Other Little Papers (1904)
Bohemia in London (1907)
A History of Story-telling (1909)
Edgar Allan Poe (1910)
Oscar Wilde (1912)
Portraits and Speculations (1913)
Six Weeks in Russia (1919)
The Crisis in Russia (1921)
Racundra's First Cruise (1923)
Rod and Line (1929)
Racundra's Third Cruise (1972)

The Autobiography
The Autobiography of Arthur Ransome (1976)

Delphi Complete Works of Arthur Ransome Illustrated