Delphi Complete Works of Jack Kerouac

ebook Delphi Series Thirteen

By Jack Kerouac

cover image of Delphi Complete Works of Jack Kerouac

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


Jack Kerouac was an American novelist, poet and leader of the Beat movement. His iconic masterpiece 'On the Road' exacted a broad cultural influence, capturing the spirit of its time as no other work of the 20th century had done since 'The Great Gatsby'. Kerouac's insistence upon 'First thought, best thought' and his refusal to revise was controversial. He deemed revision as a form of literary lying, imposing a form farther away from the truth of the moment. His novels reveal a quest for pure, unadulterated languageā€”the truth of the heart unobstructed by the lying of revision. His technique demonstrates an unusual writing style, neither haphazard nor sloppy, but systematic in the most-individualised sense. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Kerouac's complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and bonus material. (Version 1)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Kerouac's life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 15 novels and novellas, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Rare poetry texts
* Easily locate the poems you want to read
* Includes Kerouac's seminal non-fiction collection, 'Lonesome Traveler'
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: the poetry published after Kerouac's death cannot appear in this edition, due to copyright restrictions.


The Novels
The Town and the City (1950)
On the Road (1957)
The Dharma Bums (1958)
Doctor Sax (1959)
Maggie Cassidy (1959)
Book of Dreams (1960)
Big Sur (1962)
Visions of Gerard (1963)
Desolation Angels (1965)
Vanity of Duluoz (1968)
Visions of Cody (1972)

The Novellas
The Subterraneans (1958)
Tristessa (1960)
Satori in Paris (1966)
Pic (1971)

The Poetry
Mexico City Blues (1959)
The Scripture of the Golden Eternity (1960)
Old Angel Midnight (1973)

The Non-Fiction
Lonesome Traveler (1960)

Delphi Complete Works of Jack Kerouac