Delphi Complete Works of Francis Stevens

ebook Delphi Series Thirteen

By Francis Stevens

cover image of Delphi Complete Works of Francis Stevens

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


Gertrude Barrows Bennett, known by the pseudonym Francis Stevens, was a pioneering author of fantasy and science fiction. In spite of a short career of seven years between 1917 and 1923, which ended suddenly for unknown reasons, Stevens produced original and startling fantasies, leading many to name her the creator of dark fantasy. Her highly imaginative tales went on to inform the works of prominent weird and horror writers, including H. P. Lovecraft and A. Merritt. For this first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Stevens' complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Stevens' life and works
* Concise introductions to the novels and other texts
* All 5 novels, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the stories were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* Includes special bonus texts of the science fiction and fantasy works that inspired Stevens' tales
* Rare short stories available in no other collection
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres


The Novels
The Citadel of Fear (1918)
The Labyrinth (1918)
The Heads of Cerberus (1919)
Avalon (1919)
Claimed (1920)

The Short Stories
The Curious Experience of Thomas Dunbar (1904)
The Nightmare (1917)
Friend Island (1918)
Behind the Curtain (1918)
Unseen — Unfeared (1919)
The Elf-Trap (1919)
Serapion (1920)
Sunfire (1923)

Delphi Complete Works of Francis Stevens