Delphi Complete Works of Josephine Tey

ebook Delphi Series Thirteen

By Josephine Tey

cover image of Delphi Complete Works of Josephine Tey

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


The Scottish novelist and playwright Josephine Tey, pseudonym of Elizabeth Mackintosh, wrote popular detective novels praised for their warm and engaging style. They feature the indefatigable Inspector Grant, whose cases often involve the darker side of humanity, as Tey's works fashioned a bridge between the Golden Age of Detective Fiction and contemporary crime novels. Her masterpiece 'The Daughter of Time' sees Grant investigating the role of Richard III of England in the death of the Princes in the Tower. It went on to win the prestigious distinction of being the greatest crime novel of all time, as judged by the Crime Writers' Association, even eclipsing the works of Doyle, Sayers, Chandler and Christie. For the first time in publishing history, this eBook presents Tey's complete fictional works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Tey's life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 11 novels, with individual contents tables
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Rare newspaper sketches appearing for the first time in digital publishing, representing Tey's first printed works
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* 18 plays, including the seminal drama 'Richard of Bordeaux'
* Rare plays never digitised before
* Includes Tey's rare non-fiction book 'Claverhouse' – available in no other collection
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please visit to browse through our range of exciting titles


The Inspector Alan Grant Books
The Man in the Queue (1929)
A Shilling for Candles (1936)
The Franchise Affair (1948)
To Love and Be Wise (1950)
The Daughter of Time (1951)
The Singing Sands (1952)

Other Novels
Kif (1929)
The Expensive Halo (1931)
Miss Pym Disposes (1946)
Brat Farrar (1949)
The Privateer (1952)

The Sketches
Sketches from 'The Westminster Gazette'

The Plays
Richard of Bordeaux (1932)
The Laughing Woman (1934)
Queen of Scots (1934)
Cornelia (1946)
The Little Dry Thorn (1946)
Leith Sands and Other Short Plays (1946)
Valerius (1948)
Dickon (1953)
The Pomp of Mr. Pomfret (1954)
Patria (1954)
The Balwhinnie Bomb (1954)
The Pen of My Aunt (1954)
The Princess who Liked Cherry Pie (1954)
Lady Charing is Cross (1954)
Sweet Coz (1954)
Reckoning (1954)
Barnharrow (1954)
The Staff-Room (1954)

The Non-Fiction
Claverhouse (1937)

Please visit to browse through our range of exciting titles or to purchase this eBook as a Parts Edition of individual eBooks

Delphi Complete Works of Josephine Tey