Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Masefield

ebook Delphi Poets

By John Masefield

cover image of Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Masefield

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


The English Poet Laureate from 1930 until 1967, John Masefield produced a wide range of literary masterpieces, encompassing ballads, nature poetry, adventure novels, social dramas and mythological children's works. His long narrative poems, including the much-celebrated 'The Everlasting Mercy' (1911), shocked the literary orthodoxy of the time with its colloquial expressions and coarseness of themes. Masefield is revered for his endeavour to make poetry a popular art and for his influence on the Georgian movement, advocating respect for formalism, as well as bucolic and romantic subject matter. The Delphi Poets Series offers readers the works of literature's finest poets, with superior formatting. For the first time in publishing history, this volume presents Masefield's complete poetical works, with related illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1)


* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Masefield's life and works

* Concise introduction to Masefield's life

* Images of how the poetry books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts

* Many rare poetry collections digitised here for the first time

* Excellent formatting of the poems

* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the poetry

* Easily locate the poems you want to read

* Includes a selection of Masefield's novels and non-fiction— spend hours exploring his varied works

* The beloved children's classic 'The Midnight Folk' and its sequel 'The Box of Delights'

* Ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres


Please visit to see our wide range of poet titles




The Poetical Works

Brief Introduction: John Masefield

Salt-Water Ballads (1902)

Ballads and Poems (1910)

The Everlasting Mercy (1911)

The Widow in the Bye Street (1912)

Dauber (1912)

The Story of a Round-House and Other Poems (1912)

The Daffodil Fields (1913)

Philip the King and Other Poems (1914)

Good Friday (1916)

Lollingdon Downs and Other Poems with Sonnets (1917)

Rosas (1918)

Reynard the Fox (1919)

Enslaved and Other Poems (1920)

Right Royal (1920)

Selected Poems (1922)

King Cole and Other Poems (1923)

A King's Daughter (1923)

Poems from 'Sard Harker' (1924)

Poems from 'Odtaa' (1926)

Midsummer Night and Other Tales in Verse (1928)

Poems from 'The Wanderer' (1930)

Minnie Maylow's Story and Other Tales and Scenes (1931)

A Tale of Troy (1932)

A Letter from Pontus and Other Verse (1936)

Recent Poems (1955)

The Bluebells and Other Verses (1961)

Old Raiger and Other Verses (1964)

In Glad Thanksgiving (1967)


The Poems

List of Poems in Chronological Order

List of Poems in Alphabetical Order


The Novels

Multitude and Solitude (1909)

Martin Hyde: The Duke's Messenger (1909)

Jim Davis (1911)

Sard Harker (1924)

ODTAA (1926)

The Midnight Folk (1927)

The Taking of the Gry (1934)

The Box of Delights (1935)


The Non-Fiction

On the Spanish Main (1906)

William Shakespeare (1911)

John M. Synge (1915)

Gallipoli (1916)

The Old Front Line (1917)

The War and the Future (1918)

The Nine Days Wonder (1941)


Please visit to browse through our range of poetry titles or buy the entire Delphi Poets Series as a Super Set


Delphi Complete Poetical Works of John Masefield