Delphi Collected Works of Ellen Glasgow

ebook Delphi Series Thirteen

By Ellen Glasgow

cover image of Delphi Collected Works of Ellen Glasgow

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


The winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1942, Ellen Glasgow published 19 novels to critical acclaim, establishing a new form of Southern fiction. Offering realistic depictions of life in her native Virginia, her narratives avoided the nostalgia, sentimentality and idealistic escapism that characterised Southern literature after Reconstruction. With an assured and increasingly ironic treatment, Glasgow's novels examined the decay of the Southern aristocracy and the trauma of the encroachment of modern industrial civilization, with compelling results. This eBook presents Glasgow's collected works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and bonus material. (Version 1)

* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Glasgow's life and works
* Concise introductions to the major texts
* All 15 novels in the US public domain, with individual contents tables
* Features rare novels appearing for the first time in digital publishing
* Images of how the books were first published, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts
* Excellent formatting of the texts
* The complete published short stories, only available in this collection
* Ordering of texts into chronological order and genres

Please note: due to US copyright restrictions, four later novels, a non-fiction book and the autobiography cannot appear in this edition. When new texts become available, they will be added to the eBook as a free update.


The Novels
The Descendant (1897)
Phases of an Inferior Planet (1898)
The Voice of the People (1900)
The Battle-Ground (1902)
The Deliverance (1904)
The Wheel of Life (1906)
The Ancient Law (1908)
The Romance of a Plain Man (1909)
The Miller of Old Church (1911)
Virginia (1913)
Life and Gabriella (1916)
The Builders (1919)
One Man in His Time (1922)
Barren Ground (1925)
The Romantic Comedians (1926)

The Shorter Fiction
The Shadowy Third and Other Stories (1923)
Miscellaneous Short Stories

Please visit to browse through our range of exciting titles or to purchase this eBook as a Parts Edition of individual eBooks

Delphi Collected Works of Ellen Glasgow