cover image of The Savage Garden

The Savage Garden

by Mark Mills Author · Kati Nicholl Other

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

The No.1 bestselling novel and Richard & Judy Summer Read: a haunting tale of murder, love and lost innocence for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld

In 1958, Adam Strickland, a young Cambridge student, travels to Villa Docci in Tuscany to study a sixteenth-century garden. Designed and laid out by a grieving husband to the memory of his dead wife, it is a mysterious world of statues, grottoes, meandering rills and classical inscriptions.

But tragedy has hit the Docci family more recently. The German occupation during World War Two had a devastating impact on them, and the tensions between collaborators and partisans were played out within their own tight circle.

Adam is fascinated by the Doccis and increasingly aware that there are dangerous secrets hidden within the family domain.The garden itself starts to exercise a powerful influence over his imagination, its iconography seeming to point to some deeper, darker truth than was first apparent. And what really lay behind a killing at the villa towards the end of the war?

Past and present, love and intrigue, intertwine in an evocative mystery which vividly captures the experience of an innocent abroad in the uncertain world of post-War Italy.

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint:
HarperCollins
Edition:
Abridged
Publication Date:
2007

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 166.5 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 166.5 MB

Mark Mills (Author)

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, 'The Whaleboat House’, won the 2004 Crime Writer's Association for Best Novel by a debut author. 'The S...

More about Mark Mills
The Savage Garden
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free