Apricot Jam and Other Stories


By Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

cover image of Apricot Jam and Other Stories

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Available for the first time in English, Apricot Jam and Other Stories is the brilliant final work of fiction from Nobel Prize-winning author Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. Written in the years between Solzhenitsyn's return to Russia from exile in 1994, and his death in 2008, these stories confirm the author's position as the most eloquent and acclaimed opponent of government oppression in the twentieth century and as a true literary giant. Apricot Jam and Other Stories presents a series of astonishing portraits of the Russian life before, during and after Soviet rule. In 'The New Generation', a professor promotes a student purely out of good will. Years later, the same professor finds himself arrested and, in a striking twist of fate, his student becomes his interrogator. In 'Nastenka', two young women with the same name lead routine, ordered lives – until the Revolution exacts radical change on them both. With an unforgettable cast of military commanders, imprisoned activists and displaced families, these stories play out the moral dilemmas and ideological conflicts that defined Russia in the twentieth century.
Apricot Jam and Other Stories