Dark Horses

ebook A Novel

By Susan Mihalic

cover image of Dark Horses

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Libby_app_icon.svg

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg
LibbyApponDevice.png

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...
A "sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience, and clear-eyed grace" (Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author) about a teenage girl's fierce struggle to reclaim her life from her abusive father in the vein of My Absolute Darling and Room.
Fifteen-year-old equestrian prodigy Roan Montgomery has only ever known two worlds: inside the riding arena, and outside of it. Both, for as long as she can remember, have been ruled by her father, who demands strict obedience in all areas of her life. The warped power dynamic of coach and rider extends far beyond the stables, and Roan's relationship with her father has long been inappropriate. She has been able to compartmentalize that dark aspect of her life, ruthlessly focusing on her ambitions as a rider heading for the Olympics, just as her father had done. However, her developing relationship with Will Howard, a boy her own age, broadens the scope of her vision.

"[A] heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut novel" (O, The Oprah Magazine), Dark Horses explores the themes of abuse and resilience in a way that will leave you transfixed. This is "a provoking and needed book" (Booklist, starred review).
Dark Horses