cover image of Death in Captivity

Death in Captivity

A Second World War Mystery · British Library Crime Classics

by Michael Gilbert Author · Martin Edwards Editor

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

The next installment in the British Library Crime Classics series! Mystery crime fiction written in the Golden Age of Murder

"Any book by Michael Gilbert is a treat" —Daily Telegraph

A man is found dead in an escape tunnel beneath an Italian prisoner-of-war camp. Did he die in an accidental collapse—or was this murder? Captain Henry 'Cuckoo' Goyles, master tunneller and amateur detective, takes up the case.

This classic locked-room mystery with a closed circle of suspects is woven together with a thrilling story of escape from the camp, as the Second World War nears its endgame and the British prisoners prepare to flee into the Italian countryside.

Perfect for readers of Sophie Hannah and Louise Penny!

Publication Details

Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Imprint:
Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date:
2019
Series:
British Library Crime Classics

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 1.3 MB

Michael Gilbert (Author)

Michael Gilbert (1912-2006) was a founding member of the Crime Writers' Association. He wrote thrillers, police procedurals and espionage novels that rank among the highest and most varied achievements of British crime writing in the second half o...

More about Michael Gilbert
Death in Captivity
Copy and paste the code into your website.