Meet Libby. Learn more here
We want your feedback!
Click here
Cover Image

Augustus

A Novel

by John Williams Author · Robin Field Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man's dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Blackstone Publishing
Imprint:
Blackstone Audio, Inc., and Buck 50 Productions, LLC
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2011

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 392 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 392 MB

John Williams (Author)

John Williams (1922–1994) was born in Texas. The poet and novelist taught at and received his PhD from the University of Missouri in the early 1950s. In 1955 he became the director of the University of Denver's creative writing program, where he b...

More about John Williams
Augustus
Copy and paste the code into your website.