cover image of The Wallflower Wager

The Wallflower Wager

Girl Meets Duke Series, Book 3 · Girl Meets Duke

by Tessa Dare

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
'I absolutely adored it. I laughed out loud numerous times... Love her writing.' Jodi Picoult on The Governess Game This summer's must read from New York Times bestselling author that's perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer. They call him the Duke of Ruin. To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door. Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even. Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn't take into her home and her heart. When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbour demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes. Rising to the challenge, Gabriel, who wouldn't know a loving home from a workhouse, is bewitched by the shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. But now she's set her heart and mind on saving him... Not if he ruins her first.
  • Readers Love Tessa Dare 'When it comes to historical romance, for me, no one beats Tessa Dare and this is definitely one of her best. It sparkles with all of Dare's usual humour and wit, and the romance is hot, hot, hot. I started this on my way home from work one Thursday evening and had the whole thing finished that night.5 Star I couldn't put it down5 Star 'The main characters, Gabriel and Lady Penelope, are to die for – I loved their first meeting so much. It was funny yet cute and sexy all at the same time...Their story is beautiful'4 Star I like this style of fiction – always have since Georgette Heyer times and these series of novels are only reminding me of her but with a small diversion towards modern times – the heroines are less missish and more feisty and not afraid to have sex with their suitors.I am also, always a sucker for stories with cute animals and hedgehogs in pockets are the best yet'4 Star
  • Publication Details

    Publisher:
    HarperCollins Publishers
    Imprint:
    Mills & Boon
    Publication Date:
    2019
    Series:
    Girl Meets Duke

    Format

    • OverDrive Read
    • Adobe EPUB eBook 860.8 KB

    Tessa Dare (Author)

    Avril Tremayne became a writer via careers in shoe-selling, nursing, teaching and public relations. Along the way, she studied acting, singing, pottery, oil painting, millinery, German and Arabic (among other things). A committed urbanite, her fav...

    More about Tessa Dare
    The Wallflower Wager
    Copy and paste the code into your website.
    New here? Learn how to read digital books for free