cover image of The Knife Thrower

The Knife Thrower

and Other Stories · Vintage Contemporaries

by Steven Millhauser

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Included in this short story collection is "The Sisterhood of the Night", now a major motion picture. From the bestselling author of Martin Dressler, this volume explores the magnificent obsessions of the unfettered imagination, as well as the darker, subterranean currents that fuel them.

With the panache of an old-fashioned magician, Steven Millhauser conducts his readers from the dark corners beneath the sunlit world to a balloonist's tour of the heavens. He transforms department stores and amusement parks into alternate universes of infinite plentitude and menace. He unveils the secrets of a maker of automatons and a coven of teenage girls. And on every page of The Knife Thrower and Other Stories, Millhauser confirms his stature as a narrative enchanter in the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Borges.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint:
Vintage
Publication Date:
2010
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 1.7 MB

Steven Millhauser (Author)

Steven Millhauser received the Pulitzer Prize for Martin Dressler. He is the author of Edwin Mullhouse, The Barnum Museum, and In the Penny Arcade, among other books. He lives with his wife and two children in Saratoga Springs, New York.

More about Steven Millhauser
The Knife Thrower
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free