cover image of The Editor

The Editor

by Steven Rowley

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
'Delicately observed' Sunday Times 'Laugh-out-loud funny and searingly poignant' Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones and the Six One of PopSugar's 'Buzzy Books to Read This Spring' 'A sweet and charming novel, perfect for fans of Jackie O and Rowley's first novel, Lily and the Octopus, alike' PopSugar _____________________________________________________________ After years of struggling as a writer in 1990s New York City, James Smale finally gets his big break when his novel sells to an editor at a major publishing house:none other than Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Jackie, or Mrs. Onassis as she's known in the office, loves James's candidly autobiographical novel, about his own dysfunctional family. As Jackie and James develop an unexpected friendship, she pushes him to write an authentic ending, encouraging him to confront the truth about his relationship with his mother. But when a long-held family secret is revealed, he realises his editor may have had a larger plan that goes beyond the page...____________________________________________________________ Find out why readers have fallen in love with The Editor: 'What an excellent read this is! Beautifully written, with a sad yet poignantly beautiful ending' Gillian F 'I devoured in just a couple of sittings, only breaking for sleep and work!' Kath B 'I loved it – I couldn't wait to find out what happened next' Katrina P 'What a clever, gorgeously written story!' Kate H 'With a delightfully quirky storyline, great characterisation, wonderful wry humour and warmth, this book is an intriguing, thoughtful read. I loved it!' Joy L 'A beautiful book, full of characters to appreciate and care for' Lucy W 'I absolutely loved this novel – funny, moving, interesting and always entertaining!' Yvonne C 'Made me laugh, made me think and then ultimately made me cry!'Net A 'I laughed so much throughout this book; it's beautiful and heartwarming' Michelle H 'Bittersweet and charming!' Siobhan D

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint:
The Borough Press
Publication Date:
2019

Format

  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 501.6 KB
The Editor
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free