cover image of The Forsyte Saga

The Forsyte Saga

Dover Thrift Editions

by John Galsworthy


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
A brilliant social satire by Nobel Prize-winning author John Galsworthy, this monumental trilogy chronicles the lives of three generations of an upper-middle class London family obsessed with money and respectability.
The first book, The Man of Property, established Galsworthy's reputation as an author and a keen observer of society. His masterly prose, always scorchingly accurate and often very funny, introduces Soames Forsyte, an avaricious man who sees everything—including his rebellious trophy wife, Irene—in terms of its value as a possession. The second book, In Chancery, recounts the Forsytes' stormy marriage, separation, and eventual divorce. To Let, the last of the trilogy, focuses on the children of the estranged couple. In addition to the three original novels, this edition also contains the connecting interludes, Indian Summer of a Forsyte and Awakening. An enduring portrait of Victorian and Edwardian life, The Forsyte Saga remains an impressive contribution to social history and literary art.

Publication Details

Dover Publications
Publication Date:
Dover Thrift Editions


  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 1.4 MB
The Forsyte Saga
Copy and paste the code into your website.