cover image of The Red Daughter

The Red Daughter

A Novel

by John Burnham Schwartz Author · Kathleen Gati Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Running from her father's brutal legacy, Joseph Stalin's daughter defects to the United States during the turbulence of the 1960s. For fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and A Gentleman in Moscow, this sweeping historical novel and unexpected love story is inspired by the remarkable life of Svetlana Alliluyeva.
"The Red Daughter does exactly what good historical fiction should do: It sends you down the rabbit hole to read and learn more."The New York Times Book Review
In one of the most momentous events of the Cold War, Svetlana Alliluyeva, the only daughter of the Soviet despot Joseph Stalin, abruptly abandoned her life in Moscow in 1967, arriving in New York to throngs of reporters and a nation hungry to hear her story. By her side is Peter Horvath, a young lawyer sent by the CIA to smuggle Svetlana into America.
She is a contradictory celebrity: charismatic and headstrong, lonely and haunted, excited and alienated by her adopted country's radically different society. Persuading herself that all she yearns for is a simple American life, she attempts to settle into a suburban existence in Princeton, New Jersey. But one day an invitation from the widow of the architect Frank Lloyd Wright arrives, and Svetlana impulsively joins her cultlike community at Taliesin West. When this dream ends in disillusionment, Svetlana reaches out to Peter, the one person who understands how the chains of her past still hold her prisoner. Their relationship changes and deepens, moving from America to England to the Soviet Union and back again, unfolding under the eyes of her CIA minders, and Svetlana's and Peter's private lives are no longer their own.
Novelist John Burnham Schwartz's father was in fact the young lawyer who escorted Svetlana Alliluyeva to the United States. Drawing upon private papers and years of extensive research, Schwartz imaginatively re-creates the story of an extraordinary, troubled woman's search for a new life and a place to belong, in the powerful, evocative prose that has made him an acclaimed author of literary and historical fiction.
Praise for The Red Daughter
"Svetlana Alliluyeva's life was endlessly fascinating, often heartbreaking, and ultimately heroic. I don't think any writer alive could have told her story more beautifully than John Burnham Schwartz."—David Benioff, co-creator of HBO's Game of Thrones and author of City of Thieves
"The Red Daughter is an intimate, intricate look at the collision of geopolitics with a private life: surprising and engaging from beginning to end."—Jennifer Egan

Publication Details

Publisher:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Imprint:
Random House Audio
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2019

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 274.9 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 274.9 MB

John Burnham Schwartz (Author)

John Burnham Schwartz is the bestselling author of five novels, including Northwest Corner, The Commoner, and Reservation Road, which was made into a film based on his screenplay. His books have been translated into twenty languages, and he has do...

More about John Burnham Schwartz

John Burnham Schwartz (Narrator)

John Burnham Schwartz is the bestselling author of five novels, including Northwest Corner, The Commoner, and Reservation Road, which was made into a film based on his screenplay. His books have been translated into twenty languages, and he has do...

More about John Burnham Schwartz

Creators

Author :
John Burnham Schwartz
Narrator :
John Burnham Schwartz
Narrator :
Mark Bramhall
Narrator :
Kathleen Gati
The Red Daughter
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free