Meet Libby. Learn more here
Cover Image

We Cast a Shadow

A Novel

by Maurice Carlos Ruffin

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
A "brilliant and devastating" (Booklist) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout, about a father's obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white
"An incisive and necessary work of satire."—Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist
"You can be beautiful, even more beautiful than before." This is the seductive promise of Dr. Nzinga's clinic, where anyone can get their lips thinned, their skin bleached, and their nose narrowed. A complete demelanization will liberate you from the confines of being born in a black body—if you can afford it.
In this near-future Southern city plagued by fenced-in ghettos and police violence, more and more residents are turning to this experimental medical procedure. Like any father, our narrator just wants the best for his son, Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. The darker Nigel becomes, the more frightened his father feels. But how far will he go to protect his son? And will he destroy his family in the process?
This electrifying, hallucinatory novel is at once a keen satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. At its center is a father who just wants his son to thrive in a broken world. Maurice Carlos Ruffin's work evokes the clear vision of Ralph Ellison, the dizzying menace of Franz Kafka, and the crackling prose of Vladimir Nabokov. We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.
Advance praise for We Cast a Shadow
"A full-throated novelistic debut of ferocious power and grace . . . a story that refracts the insanity of the world into a shape so unique you wonder how this book wasn't there all along."Lit Hub, Most Anticipated Books of 2019
"Propulsive . . . We Cast a Shadow proves that the eeriest works of speculative fiction are those that hit closest to home."Vulture, 37 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2019
"One of the most anticipated debut novels of 2019."Los Angeles Times, 11 Authors to Watch in 2019
"A biting satire of anti-blackness in the US."Buzzfeed, 66 Books Coming in 2019 That You'll Want to Keep on Your Radar

Publication Details

Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Imprint:
One World/Ballantine
Publication Date:
2019

Format

  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 1.4 MB

Maurice Carlos Ruffin (Author)

Maurice Carlos Ruffin is a recipient of an Iowa Review Award in fiction and was the winner of the William Faulkner-William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition for Novel-in-Progress. His work has appeared in Virginia Quarterly Review, AGNI, Kenyon ...

More about Maurice Carlos Ruffin
We Cast a Shadow
Copy and paste the code into your website.