cover image of Code Girls

Code Girls

The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II

by Liza Mundy Author · Christine Lakin Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.

More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the US Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking.

Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story-until now.

Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Hachette Book Group
Imprint:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Edition:
Unabridged, Young Readers
Publication Date:
2018

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 175.4 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 175.4 MB

Liza Mundy (Author)

Liza Mundy is the New York Times bestselling author of The Richer Sex: How the New Majority of Female Breadwinners Is Transforming Sex, Love and Family and Michelle: A Biography. She has worked as a reporter at the Washington Post and contributed ...

More about Liza Mundy
Code Girls
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free