We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of Be My Enemy

Be My Enemy

Everness Series, Book 2 · Everness

by Ian McDonald


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Everett Singh has escaped with the Infundibulum from Charlotte Villiers but at a terrible price. His father is lost, banished to one of the billions of parallel universes of the Panoply of All World, and Everett and the crew of the airship Everness have taken a wild Heisenberg Jump to a frozen earth far beyond the Plenitude of Known Worlds, he plans to rescue his family.
It's deadly chase from the frozen wastes of iceball earth; to Earth 4 (like ours, except that the alien Thryn Sentiency occupied the moon in 1964); to the dead London of the forbidden plane of Earth 1, where the remnants of humanity battle a terrifying nanotechnology run wild. Everett has the love and support of Sen, Captain Anastasia Sixsmyth, and the rest of the crew of Everness, but will that be enough when your deadliest enemy isn't the Order or the world-devouring nanotech Nahn—it's yourself. Because the villainous Charlotte Villiers is always one step ahead.
Praise for Be My Enemy
"Absolutely triumphant sequel... tremendous action scenes, cunning escapes, genius attacks on the ways that multidimensional travel might be weaponized, horrific glimpses of shadowy powers and sinister technologies... a gifted ear for poesie that makes the English language sing, the unapologetic presumption of the reader's ability to understand what's going on without a lot of hand-holding, and a technological mysticism that never explicitly says when the literal stops and the fantasy starts..." —Boing Boing
"Smart, clever and abundantly original, with suspense that grabs your eyeballs, this is real science fiction for all ages. More! More!" —Kirkus
"WA blast from start to finish. As far as I'm concerned, Ian McDonald could write another dozen or so of these Everness novels, and I'd happily read them all." —SF Signal

Publication Details

Jabberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
Publication Date:


  • OverDrive Read 616.2 KB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 616.2 KB
  • Open EPUB eBook 614.8 KB

Ian McDonald (Author)

Ian McDonald is the author of many award-winning and critically-acclaimed science fiction novels, including Brasyl, River of Gods, Cyberabad Days, The Dervish House, and the ground-breaking Chaga series. He has won the Philip K. Dick Award, the BS...

More about Ian McDonald
Be My Enemy
Copy and paste the code into your website.