Meet Libby. Learn more here
Cover Image

Friday Black

by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead
"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice."
Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review
"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny."George Saunders
"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." Roxane Gay
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book
A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America.
From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country.
These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all.
Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Publication Details

Publisher:
HMH Books
Imprint:
Mariner Books
Publication Date:
2018

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 4.1 MB

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah (Author)

NANA KWAME ADJEI-BRENYAH has an MFA from Syracuse University. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in numerous publications, including Guernica, Printer's Row, and Breakwater Review, where ZZ Packer awarded him the Breakwater Review Fiction Pri...

More about Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Friday Black
Copy and paste the code into your website.