cover image of The Lido

The Lido

by Libby Page Author · Clare Corbett Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
**INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER**

"In many ways, this meditation on community and swimming follows in the footsteps of the enormously popular A Man Called Ove... Both are charming and heartwarming."—Kirkus Reviews

WE'RE NEVER TOO OLD TO MAKE NEW FRIENDS—OR TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE
Rosemary Peterson has lived in Brixton, London, all her life but everything is changing.

The library where she used to work has closed. The family grocery store has become a trendy bar. And now the lido, an outdoor pool where she's swum daily since its opening, is threatened with closure by a local housing developer. It was at the lido that Rosemary escaped the devastation of World War II; here she fell in love with her husband, George; here she found community during her marriage and since George's death.

Twentysomething Kate Matthews has moved to Brixton and feels desperately alone. A once promising writer, she now covers forgettable stories for her local paper. That is, until she's assigned to write about the lido's closing. Soon Kate's portrait of the pool focuses on a singular woman: Rosemary. And as Rosemary slowly opens up to Kate, both women are nourished and transformed in ways they never thought possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman's A Man Called Ove, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Audio
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2018

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 255.9 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 255.9 MB

Libby Page (Author)

Libby Page graduated from The London College of Fashion with a BA in fashion journalism before going on to work as a journalist at The Guardian. After writing, her second passion is outdoor swimming. Libby lives in London, where she enjoys finding...

More about Libby Page
The Lido
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free