Meet Libby. Learn more here
Cover Image

The Mammoth Book of the Best of Best New Horror

Two Decades of Dark Fiction · The Mammoth Book

by Stephen Jones


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

For twenty years The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror has been recognized as the world's foremost annual showcase of horror and dark fantasy fiction. Now, with one story from each year in which it has been published, from 1989 to 2008, representing the work of dozens of authors, many of them acknowledged as the foremost practitioners of the genre, multi-award-winning editor Stephen Jones looks back on two decades of superb writing to bring readers the ultimate horror fiction anthology.
With names such as Ramsey Campbell, Christopher Fowler, Neil Gaiman, Michael Marshall Smith, Paul J. McAuley and Lisa Tuttle, this collection represents a true landmark in horror fiction publishing.
Praise for Stephen Jones:
'Horror's last maverick.' — Christopher Fowler
'Stephen Jones . . . has a better sense of the genre than almost anyone in this country.' — Lisa Tuttle, The Times Books
'The best horror anthologist in the business is, of course, Stephen Jones.' — Roz Kavaney, Time Out
'Edited by Stephen Jones, a member of that tiny band of anthologists whose work is so reliably good that you automatically reach out and grab hold of any new volume spotted if you are wise.' — Gahan Wilson, Realms of Fantasy
'One of the genre's most enthusiastic cheerleaders.' — Publishers Weekly
'Horror readers owe Stephen Jones a lot.' — Rue Morgue
'Edited by the prolific and reliable Stephen Jones.' — SFX Magazine
'Jones performs his usual exemplary job.' — Starlog (UK)
'A new horror anthology from Stephen Jones is always an event' — Dennis Etchison

Publication Details

Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date:
The Mammoth Book


  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 1.9 MB

Stephen Jones (Author)

Stephen Jones is the winner of three World Fantasy Awards, four Horror Writers Association Bram Stoker Awards and three International Horror Guild Awards, as well as being a multiple recipient of the British Fantasy Award and a Hugo Award nominee....

More about Stephen Jones
The Mammoth Book of the Best of Best New Horror
Copy and paste the code into your website.