Meet Libby. Learn more here
Cover Image

The Feather Thief

Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

by Kirk Wallace Johnson Author · MacLeod Andrews Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
As heard on NPR's This American Life
"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." —Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air
"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever." —Christian Science Monitor
A rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.
On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness.
Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Imprint:
Penguin Audio
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2018

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 221.8 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 221.7 MB

Kirk Wallace Johnson (Author)

KIRK W. JOHNSON is the founder of the List Project to Resettle Iraqi Allies, and the author of To Be a Friend Is Fatal. Prior to the List Project, Johnson served in Iraq with U.S.A.I.D. His writing has appeared in The New York Times, the Washingto...

More about Kirk Wallace Johnson
The Feather Thief
Copy and paste the code into your website.