The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume 1: 1929–1964

audiobook (Unabridged) The Greatest Science Fiction Stories of All Time Chosen by the Members of The Science Fiction Writers of America

By Robert A. Heinlein

cover image of The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume 1: 1929–1964
Audiobook icon Visual indication that the title is an audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


The definitive collection of the best in science fiction stories between 1929 and 1964

This book contains twenty-six of the greatest science fiction stories ever written. They represent the considered verdict of the Science Fiction Writers of America, those who have shaped the genre and who know, more intimately than anyone else, what the criteria for excellence in the field should be. The authors chosen for the Science Fiction Hall Fame are the men and women who have shaped the body and heart of modern science fiction; their brilliantly imaginative creations continue to inspire and astound new generations of writers and fans.

Robert Heinlein in "The Roads Must Roll" describes an industrial civilization of the future caught up in the deadly flaws of its own complexity. "Country of the Kind," by Damon Knight, is a frightening portrayal of biological mutation. "Nightfall," by Isaac Asimov, one of the greatest stories in the science fiction field, is the story of a planet where the sun sets only once every millennium and is a chilling study in mass psychology.

Originally published in 1970 to honor those writers and their stories that had come before the institution of the Nebula Awards, The Science Fiction Hall Of Fame, Vol. 1, was the book that introduced tens of thousands of young readers to the wonders of science fiction. Too long unavailable, this new edition will treasured by all science fiction fans everywhere.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Vol. 1, includes the following:

Introduction by Robert Silverberg

"A Martian Odyssey" by Stanley G. Weinbaum"Twilight" by John W. Campbell"Helen O'Loy" by Lester del Rey"The Roads Must Roll" by Robert A. Heinlein"Microcosmic God" by Theodore Sturgeon"Nightfall" by Isaac Asimov"The Weapon Shop" by A. E. van Vogt"Mimsy Were the Borogoves" by Lewis Padgett"Huddling Place" by Clifford D. Simak"Arena" by Fredric Brown"First Contact" by Murray Leinster"That Only a Mother" by Judith Merril"Scanners Live in Vain" by Cordwainer Smith"Mars Is Heaven!" by Ray Bradbury"The Little Black Bag" by C. M. Kornbluth"Born of Man and Woman" by Richard Matheson"Coming Attraction" by Fritz Leiber"The Quest for Saint Aquin" by Anthony Boucher"Surface Tension" by James Blish"The Nine Billion Names of God" by Arthur C. Clarke"It's a Good Life" by Jerome Bixby"The Cold Equations" by Tom Godwin"Fondly Fahrenheit" by Alfred Bester"The Country of the Kind" Damon Knight"Flowers for Algernon" by Daniel Keyes"A Rose for Ecclesiastes" by Roger Zelazny

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume 1: 1929–1964