Meet Libby. Learn more here
Cover Image

The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo Author · Elizabeth Acevedo Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2018

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 96.5 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 96.5 MB

Elizabeth Acevedo (Author)

Elizabeth Acevedo is the daughter of Dominican immigrants. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC. Find her online at www.acevedowrites.com.

More about Elizabeth Acevedo

Elizabeth Acevedo (Narrator)

Elizabeth Acevedo is the daughter of Dominican immigrants. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC. Find her online at www.acevedowrites.com.

More about Elizabeth Acevedo
The Poet X
Copy and paste the code into your website.