Uncle Abner, Master of Mysteries

ebook 18 Detective Tales in One Volume: The Doomdorf Mystery, The Wrong Hand, The Angel of the Lord, An Act of God, The Treasure Hunter

By Melville Davisson Post

cover image of Uncle Abner, Master of Mysteries

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

In 'Uncle Abner, Master of Mysteries', Melville Davisson Post presents us with a captivating collection of 18 detective tales that explore the complexities of human nature and the eternal struggle between good and evil. Post's writing style is both elegant and intricate, filled with rich descriptions that transport the reader to the rugged landscapes of western Virginia in the early 19th century. Each story is a masterful blend of mystery, morality, and the elements of a classic whodunit, making it a delightful read for fans of both detective fiction and historical literature. Post's unique storytelling approach, combining spiritual and philosophical themes with traditional detective plots, sets him apart as a true pioneer in the genre. Melville Davisson Post, a trained lawyer and lifelong resident of West Virginia, drew inspiration for his stories from his deep knowledge of the region's history and folklore. His background in law and his passion for justice is reflected in the moral dilemmas faced by Uncle Abner, the enigmatic protagonist of the tales, as he navigates the treacherous terrain of crime and morality. 'Uncle Abner, Master of Mysteries' is a must-read for anyone who appreciates well-crafted detective fiction with a philosophical edge, offering a unique perspective on the timeless themes of justice and redemption.
Uncle Abner, Master of Mysteries