We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of Building the Wall

Building the Wall

The Play and Commentary

by Robert Schenkkan Author · Douglas S. Massey Author of afterword, colophon, etc.

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Subjects

In the tradition of Hamilton and Angels in America, a powerful, politically charged, dystopian drama that couldn't be more timely.
Written in a "white-hot fury" on the eve of the 2016 election, the stunning new play by Pulitzer Prize– and Tony Award–winning dramatist Robert Schenkkan is creating a nationwide sensation. Bypassing the usual development path for plays, it has been signed up to open in five theaters across America in a National New Play Network Rolling World Premiere, starting in Los Angeles (March) and Denver (April) and continuing in the Washington, DC, area, Tucson, and Miami, with more productions to follow, including in Santa Fe and New York City.
Building the Wall lays out in a harrowing drama the consequences of Donald Trump's anti-immigration campaign rhetoric turned into federal policy. Two years from now, that policy has resulted in the mass round-up of millions of illegal aliens, with their incarceration overflowing into private prisons and camps reminiscent of another century. The former warden for one facility is awaiting sentencing for what happened under his watch. In a riveting interview with a historian who has come seeking the truth, he gradually reveals how the unthinkable became the inevitable, and the faceless illegals under his charge became the face of tragedy. The play is accompanied by commentary from three prominent scholars: on the real purpose of the border wall, our dark nativist history of restricting immigration, and the tradition of political protest in art.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Arcade
Publication Date:
2017

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read 413.8 KB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 412.7 KB

Timothy Patrick McCarthy (Author of afterword, colophon, etc.)

Timothy Patrick McCarthy is an award-winning scholar, educator, and activist. He holds a joint faculty appointment at Harvard University, where he is Director of Culture Change & Social Justice Initiatives at the Carr Center for Human Rights Polic...

More about Timothy Patrick McCarthy

Julian E. Zelizer (Author of afterword, colophon, etc.)

Julian E. Zelizer is a political historian at Princeton University and a fellow at New America. He is also a contributor to CNN, where he writes a weekly column and appears as a regular guest on television. His most recent book is The Fierce Urgen...

More about Julian E. Zelizer

Douglas S. Massey (Author of afterword, colophon, etc.)

Douglas S. Massey is the Henry G. Bryant Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs at Princeton University and Director of its Office of Population Research.

More about Douglas S. Massey

Robert Schenkkan (Author)

Robert Schenkkan is a playwright and screenwriter. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama for The Kentucky Cycle and a Tony Award for Best Play for All the Way, which was also made into a multiple Emmy-nominated HBO movie starring Bryan Cranston. His...

More about Robert Schenkkan

Creators

Author of afterword, colophon, etc. :
Timothy Patrick McCarthy
Author of afterword, colophon, etc. :
Julian E. Zelizer
Author of afterword, colophon, etc. :
Douglas S. Massey
Author :
Robert Schenkkan
Building the Wall
Copy and paste the code into your website.