cover image of Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

by Lisa Wingate

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
A compelling, harrowing and utterly redemptive novel that reveals a family torn apart by a shocking betrayal. Based on real-life events of kidnap, illegal adoption and a corrupt orphanage, the fictional narrative brings alive deeply researched real-life events in the manner of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington. The multi-week USA TODAY and New York Times BESTSELLER!Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiancé waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she's never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about May's life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation...or redemption.Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals-in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country-Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins
Imprint:
MIRA
Publication Date:
2017

Format

  • OverDrive Read 585.9 KB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 586 KB
Before We Were Yours
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free