We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

Rise of the Empress Series, Book 1 · Rise of the Empress

by Julie C. Dao Author · Kim Mai Guest Narrator

audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress.
"A richly developed fantasy world . . . Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch."—Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites
Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.
Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins—sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.
Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.
Praise for Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

A Junior Library Guild Selection
"A richly developed fantasy world coupled with an ambitious anti-heroine of complex agency, this story shines and surprises at every turn. Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch."—Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites
★ "A masterful reimagining of the early life of Snow White's Evil Queen."—Booklist, starred review
★ "Lushly written . . . tantalizing reading."—Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Rich in detail and full of gore and blood, this dark novel will satisfy 'Game of Thrones' fans."—School Library Journal

"A stunning reimagining of the Evil Queen. Filled with treacherous courtesans, dark magic, terrible choices, and bloody hearts, Julie Dao's exquisite take on this classic villain rises far above the average retelling."—Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"Magnetic, seductive, and alluring, Dao's Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is a lush, captivating read about desire and the lengths to which we will go to find our true destiny."—S. Jae-Jones, New York Times bestselling author of Wintersong

Publication Details

Publisher:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Imprint:
Listening Library (Audio)
Edition:
Unabridged
Publication Date:
2017
Series:
Rise of the Empress

Format

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 367.6 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 367.6 MB

Julie C. Dao (Author)

Julie C. Dao (www.juliedao.com) is a proud Vietnamese-American who was born in upstate New York. She studied medicine in college, but came to realize blood and needles were her Kryptonite. By day, she worked in science news and research; by night,...

More about Julie C. Dao
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns
Copy and paste the code into your website.