Cover Image

Now I Rise

And I Darken

by Kiersten White

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN—the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire.

A SISTER FILLED WITH RAGE
Lada Dracul has no allies. No crown. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares cross her. She storms the countryside with her men, but brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed, the defiant Ottoman sultan, brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.
HER BROTHER CAUGHT IN THE CROSSHAIRS
Lada needs the support of her diplomatic younger brother, Radu. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. And for the first time in his life, when Lada asks him for help, he refuses . . . leading his sister to make the darkest of choices.
THE ULTIMATE POWER PLAY
Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, Radu knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, would Mehmed ever forgive him?
As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.
Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel—the second in the And I Darken series.

"Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."—Booklist, starred review
★ "Absolutely devastating in the best way."—Kirkus, starred review
"A+, 5 knives."—Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling co-author of the STARBOUND and ILLUMINAE FILES trilogies

"Fierce, epic, and crazy fun."—Melissa Albert, author of THE HAZEL WOOD

Praise for And I Darken:

"A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters—absolutely riveting." —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger

"A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan." —BuzzFeed

"Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners." —NPR

Publication Details

Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Imprint:
Delacorte Press
Publication Date:
2017
Series:
And I Darken
Available in:
United States, Singapore, Canada, Turkey, Thailand

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read 3.7 MB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 3.7 MB

Kiersten White (Author)

KIERSTEN WHITE is the New York Times bestselling author of the And I Darken and Paranormalcy series, Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales, and many more novels. She lives with her family near the ocean in San Diego, which, in spite of its pe...

More about Kiersten White
Now I Rise
Copy and paste the code into your website.