cover image of The Sign of the Four

The Sign of the Four

Sherlock Holmes

by Arthur Conan Doyle


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
"The Sign of the Four" (1890), also called "The Sign of Four", is the second novel featuring Sherlock Holmes written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Doyle wrote four novels and 56 stories starring the fictional detective. The story is set in 1888. "The Sign of the Four" has a complex plot involving service in East India Company, India, the Indian Rebellion of 1857, a stolen treasure, and a secret pact among four convicts ("the Four" of the title) and two corrupt prison guards. It presents the detective's drug habit and humanizes him in a way that had not been done in the preceding novel "A Study in Scarlet" (1887). It also introduces Doctor Watson's future wife, Mary Morstan.

Publication Details

Books on Demand
Publication Date:
Sherlock Holmes


  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read 914.6 KB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 914.6 KB
The Sign of the Four
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free