cover image of A Mixture of Frailties

A Mixture of Frailties

Salterton Series, Book 3 · Salterton

by Robertson Davies


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Praised as "sterling entertainment" by the New York Times, A Mixture of Frailties is the final novel in Robertson Davies' wonderfully vivid Salterton Trilogy. Available as an eBook for the first time.

"It's a muddle, thought Monica. A muddle and I can't get it straight. I wish I knew what I should do. I wish I even knew what I want to do...I want to go on in the life that has somehow or other found me and claimed me. And I want so terribly to be happy. Oh God, don't let me slip under the surface of all the heavy-hearted dullness that seems to claim so many people..."

A Mixture of Frailties is so much more than the story of Monica Gall's life in London and her education as a singer. It is an account of her education as a human being. The result is a vivid, comic, and frequently moving novel.

A Mixture of Frailties is the last novel in The Salterton Trilogy, after Tempest-Tost and Leaven of Malice.

Publication Details

McClelland & Stewart
New Canadian Library
Publication Date:


  • OverDrive Read 2.4 MB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 2.4 MB

Robertson Davies (Author)

ROBERTSON DAVIES (1913–1995) was born and raised in Ontario, and was educated at a variety of schools, including Upper Canada College, Queen's University, and Balliol College, Oxford. He had three successive careers: as an actor with the Old Vic C...

More about Robertson Davies
A Mixture of Frailties
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free