Cover Image

Lilac Girls

A Novel

by Martha Hall Kelly

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.
    New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline's world is forever changed when Hitler's army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.
    An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.
    For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.
    The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.
    USA Today "New and Noteworthy" Book • LibraryReads Top Ten Pick
    "Harrowing . . . Lilac illuminates."People
    "A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It's smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read."Fort Worth Star-Telegram
    "A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history's most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears."San Francisco Book Review
    "Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See."Library Journal (starred review)
    "[A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly's vivid depiction of history and excellent characters."Publishers Weekly
    "Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbrück."Kirkus Reviews

    "Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history—women's history—that should never be forgotten."—Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls
    "Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . . the best book I've read all year."—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
    From the Hardcover edition.
  • Publication Details

    Publisher:
    Random House Publishing Group
    Imprint:
    Ballantine Books
    Publication Date:
    2016
    Available in:
    United States, Singapore, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom, South Africa, Egypt, Finland, Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates, Sweden, Germany, Austria, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Czech Republic, Denmark, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Malta, Iceland, Estonia

    Format

    • Kindle Book
    • OverDrive Read 6.3 MB
    • Adobe EPUB eBook 17.1 MB

    Martha Hall Kelly (Author)

    Martha Hall Kelly is a native New Englander, now living in Atlanta, Georgia, where she's writing the prequel to Lilac Girls. This is her first novel.

    More about Martha Hall Kelly
    Lilac Girls
    Copy and paste the code into your website.