cover image of The Selling of the Babe

The Selling of the Babe

The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend

by Glenn Stout

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

WINNER of the Society for American Baseball Research's (SABR) 2017 Larry Ritter Awardfor best baseball book of the Deadball Era

The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports

The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known.

More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including:

-Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert
-Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale
- Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder

The Selling of the Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe.

Publication Details

Publisher:
St. Martin's Publishing Group
Imprint:
Thomas Dunne Books
Publication Date:
2016

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read 2.4 MB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 2.4 MB

Glenn Stout (Author)

GLENN STOUT is the series editor for The Best American Sports Writing and a Casey Award finalist author of such titles asRed Sox Century, Yankees Century, and Fenway 1912.

More about Glenn Stout
The Selling of the Babe
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free