Points of Departure

ebook Liavek Stories

By Patricia C. Wrede

cover image of Points of Departure

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Stories of Liavek lore from two stalwarts of science fiction—the author of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles and the author of the Secret Country Trilogy.
The setting for a series of stories by popular science fiction authors, Liavek is a hot, busy trade city, situated on the southern shore of the Sea of Luck at the mouth of the Cat River. In Liavek, magic is based on one’s “birth luck” and the length of time one’s mother was in labor, but it can only be used to power spells after it’s invested in some object outside oneself—a difficult and deadly task. . . .
From that mad and wonderful seed, Patricia C. Wrede and Pamela Dean create an enthralling set of stories, where a god is trapped in the body of a chipmunk, where a play has the potential to incite a riot and change a nation, and where a family is coming apart at the seams—and going to enormous lengths to stitch itself back together.
All of the stories are tied together by the unforgettable character of Granny, Ka’Riatha—the one the Book of Curses calls the Guardian of the S’Rian Gods. Granny moves through each story, casting spells and bringing her tart brand of wisdom to a world come undone. This collection is perfect for fans of both titans of the genre, and will bring equal parts thrilled gasps and charmed smiles to readers everywhere.
“This deeply enjoyable journey to Liavek will be of interest to longtime fans and newcomers alike.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Points of Departure