cover image of Uprooted

Uprooted

by Naomi Novik

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Subjects

WINNER OF THE NEBULA AWARD, THE LOCUS AWARD AND THE BRITISH FANTASY AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2016

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales.

"Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic." Lev Grossman, author of the The Magicians

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn't, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.
From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

PRAISE FOR UPROOTED

"Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight." Cassandra Clare

"The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you." Ursula K. Le Guin

"Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you!" Tamora Pierce

"Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge." Robin Hobb

"I didn't know how much I wanted to read a book like this until it was already in my hands. Uprooted has everything I love about Novik's writing style, with the added bonus of some old world magic and the flavor of a dark faerie story." Patrick Rothfuss

"A beguiling novel" Independent, SFF Books of the Year

Publication Details

Publisher:
Pan Macmillan UK
Imprint:
Tor UK
Publication Date:
2015

Format

  • OverDrive Read 582.2 KB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 2.7 MB
  • Open EPUB eBook 2.7 MB
Uprooted
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free