We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of Taking Aim

Taking Aim

Power and Pain, Teens and Guns

by Michael Cart Author · Marc Aronson Author

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Powerful, riveting, and real. Sixteen celebrated authors bring us raw, insightful stories that explore guns and teens in a fiction collection that is thought provoking and emotionally gripping. For fans of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Give a Boy a Gun, and with an array of YA talent like the late great Walter Dean Myers, the poetic Joyce Carol Oates, the prophetic Elizabeth Wein, and the gritty Chris Crutcher, these are evocative voices that each has a different perspective to give. Capturing the hurt and the healing, victims and perpetrators, these stories get to the heart of the matter.

From a boy whose low self-esteem is impacted when a gun comes into his possession to a student recalling a senseless tragedy that befell a favorite teacher, from a realistic look at hunting to a provocative look at a family that defies stereotypes, each emotional story stirs the debate to new levels. The juxtaposition of guns and their consequences offers moving tales, each a reminder of how crucial the question of guns in our society is, and the impact they have on all of us.

Other acclaimed contributors are Marc Aronson, Edward Averett, Francesca Lia Block, Alex Flinn, Gregory Galloway, Jenny Hubbard, Peter Johnson, Ron Koertge, Chris Lynch, Eric Shanower, Will Weaver, and Tim Wynne-Jones.

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins
Imprint:
HarperTeen
Publication Date:
2015

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read 3.4 MB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 3.4 MB

Michael Cart (Author)

Michael Cart is a writer, a lecturer, a consultant, and a nationally recognized expert in YA literature. He is the former director of the Beverly Hills (California) Public Library and a past president of the Young Adult Library Services Associatio...

More about Michael Cart

Chris Crutcher (Author)

Peter Johnson grew up in Buffalo, New York, at a time when they had a good football team, which seems like fifty years ago. Similar to Benny Alvarez and his friends, Peter always loved words, knowing he was going to be a teacher or a professional ...

More about Chris Crutcher

Francesca Lia Block (Author)

Alex Flinn loves fairy tales and is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Beastly, a spin on Beauty and the Beast that was named a VOYA Editor's Choice and an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. Beastly is now a major motio...

More about Francesca Lia Block

Marc Aronson (Author)

Francesca Lia Block, winner of the prestigious Margaret A. Edwards Award, is the author of many acclaimed and bestselling books, including Weetzie Bat; the book collections Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books and Roses and Bones: Myths, Tales,...

More about Marc Aronson

Edward Averett (Author)

Chris Crutcher has written nine critically acclaimed novels, an autobiography, and two collections of short stories. Drawing on his experience as a family therapist and child protection specialist, Crutcher writes honestly about real issues facing...

More about Edward Averett

Creators

Author :
Joyce Carol Oates
Author :
Jenny Hubbard
Author :
Ron Koertge
Author :
Peter Johnson
Author :
Michael Cart
Author :
Chris Crutcher
Author :
Gregory Galloway
Author :
Chris Lynch
Author :
Alex Flinn
Author :
Francesca Lia Block
Author :
Walter Dean Myers
Author :
Elizabeth Wein
Author :
Tim Wynne-Jones
Author :
Marc Aronson
Author :
Eric Shanower
Author :
Will Weaver
Author :
Edward Averett
Taking Aim
Copy and paste the code into your website.