cover image of The Strings of Murder

The Strings of Murder

Frey & McGray Series, Book 1 · Frey & McGray

by Oscar de Muriel

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times

'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin

A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. The First Case for Frey & McGray.

Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense.

Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense.

McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

* * *

'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.'
Manda Scott

'A great cop double-act ... It's the pairing of the upright Frey and the unorthodox McGray that notches up the stars for this book. Like de Muriel, they're going places.'
Sunday Sport

'One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting ... with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.'
Crime Review

Publication Details

Publisher:
Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint:
Penguin
Publication Date:
2015
Series:
Frey & McGray

Format

  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 2.9 MB

Oscar de Muriel (Author)

Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City and moved to the UK to complete his PhD. He is a chemist, translator and violinist who now lives and works in Manchester. The Loch of the Dead is his third novel, following A Mask of Shadows, A Fever of the ...

More about Oscar de Muriel
The Strings of Murder
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free