Cover Image

Forsaken

by J.D. Barker

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
J.D. Barker's Forsaken is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and John Saul. Truly the birth of a new master in the genre."Barker's ambitious debut is aimed squarely at fans of classic horror. Witches, spells, miniature demons, and personal doubt give plenty to latch on to... the plot moves at a brisk pace... a promising start to a planned series."- Editorial Review, Publisher's Weekly"Incredibly written, supremely creepy. I don't say this lightly: J.D. Barker is a force to be reckoned with."Tosca LeeNY Times Bestselling Author"A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind!"Jeffery Deaver#1 International Bestselling AuthorBook One of the Shadow Cove SagaInspired by Actual EventsExcerpt from the Journal of Clayton Stone – 1692She was examined today without torture at Shadow Cove township on the charge of witchcraft. She said she was wholly innocent of the crime and has never in life renounced God. I watched as they brought her out. A poor, sickly thing, worn by her time behind the walls of her prison. Her bared feet and hands bound in leather, her clothing tattered to that of ruin. Despite such condition, her head was held high, her eyes meeting those of her accusers. She still refuses to provide her name so we remain unable to search baptismal records, nor has her family stepped forward to claim her as their own. We have no reason to believe she is anything but an orphaned child. I find myself unable to look at her directly in the moments preceding her trial. She is watching me though; with eyes of the deepest blue, she is watching me.Thad McAlister, Rise of the WitchWhen horror author Thad McAlister began his latest novel, a tale rooted in the witch trials of centuries past, the words flowed effortlessly. The story poured forth, filling page after page with the most frightening character ever to crawl from his imagination. It was his greatest work, one that would guarantee him a position among the legends of the craft.But was it really fiction?He inadvertently opened a door, one that would soon jeopardize the lives of his family.She wants to come back.At home, his wife struggles to keep their family alive. Secretly wondering if she caused it all...a deal she made long ago. A deal with the Forsaken.

Publication Details

Publisher:
J.D. Barker
Imprint:
Smashwords Edition
Publication Date:
2014
Available in:
Canada, United States

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 569.6 KB

J.D. Barker (Author)

As a child I was always told the dark could not hurt me, that the shadows creeping in the corners of my room were nothing more than just that, shadows. The sounds nothing more than the settling of our old home, creaking as it found comfort in the ...

More about J.D. Barker
Forsaken
Copy and paste the code into your website.