cover image of Coffin on the Water

Coffin on the Water

John Coffin Series, Book 17 · John Coffin

by Gwendoline Butler

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Subjects

Detective Constable John Coffin investigates the murder of a young woman, whose body is found floating in the Thames with a sinister note attached to her. A gripping crime novel from one of the most universally praised English mystery writers, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. In 1946, newly promoted detective-constable John Coffin arrives in Greenwich to take up his post. Soon after, the body of a young woman floats down the Thames to South London. It quickly becomes clear that this is no ordinary murder: the victim has been strangled, stabbed and mutilated. Attached to the body is a note reading "Present for my mother," a reference to former actress Rachel Esthart, whose son drowned under mysterious circumstances 17 years previously, and who has just received a postcard promising an imminent gift from the boy, whose death she has never acknowledged. Then two other bodies are found in the river, murdered in the same brutal way, and Coffin has a multiple murder case on his hands...

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint:
HarperCollins
Publication Date:
2014
Series:
John Coffin

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 548.5 KB

Gwendoline Butler (Author)

Gwendoline Butler was born and brought up in south London and was one of the most universally praised of English mystery authors. Her John Coffin procedural series features the titular police inspector rising through the ranks to Commissioner in L...

More about Gwendoline Butler
Coffin on the Water
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free