We want your feedback!
Click here
cover image of Beyond the Plough

Beyond the Plough

Dorset Girl Series, Book 2 · Dorset Girl

by Janet Woods


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Now a wealthy young widow, former peasant girl Siana Forbes has overcome her humble beginnings to become mistress of Cheverton Manor, the handsome estate which her infant son Ashley will one day inherit. She is at last beginning to recover from her grief at the death of her husband, the powerful and sensual squire, Edward Forbes, and when the man she truly loves, village doctor Francis Matheson, asks for her hand in marriage, it seems as though Siana can dare to be happy again. But it cannot last. The death of his brother means that Francis must undertake a perilous voyage to Van Dieman's Lane off the coast of Australia - a land where danger and hardship await. Left to raise a growing family, Siana faces trouble on the home front too, when a sinister figure from her past re-emerges, determined to cause havoc. And a terrible ordeal suffered by Siana's stepdaughter, Maryse, on the night of the harvest supper means that Siana is faced with a heartbreaking choice. Will she be able to overcome the odds stacked against her, keep her troubled family together - and can she dare to hope that her beloved Francis will ever return to her?

Publication Details

Simon & Schuster UK
Publication Date:
Dorset Girl


  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 337.5 KB

Janet Woods (Author)

Born and brought up in Parkstone in Dorset, Janet Woods now lives in Perth, Western Australia, although she returns to her English roots on a regular basis to visit family and friends.

More about Janet Woods
Beyond the Plough
Copy and paste the code into your website.