cover image of A Wizard of Earthsea

A Wizard of Earthsea

Earthsea Cycle, Book 1 · Earthsea Cycle

by Ursula K. Le Guin


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Originally published in 1968, Ursula K. Le Guin's A Wizard of Earthsea marks the first of the six now beloved Earthsea titles. Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death's threshold to restore the balance.

This ebook includes a sample chapter of THE TOMBS OF ATUAN.

Publication Details

HMH Books
HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date:
Earthsea Cycle


  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 6.4 MB

Ursula K. Le Guin (Author)

The beloved author Ursula K. Le Guin was awarded a Newbery Honor for her second novel in the Earthsea Cycle, The Tombs of Atuan. Among her other distinctions are the Margaret A. Edwards Award, a National Book Award, and six Nebula Awards. She live...

More about Ursula K. Le Guin
A Wizard of Earthsea
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free