The Naming of the Dead

audiobook (Abridged) Inspector Rebus Series, Book 16 · Inspector Rebus

By Ian Rankin

cover image of The Naming of the Dead
Audiobook icon Visual indication that the title is an audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


When the leaders of the free world descend on Scotland for an international conference, every cop in the country is needed to control the mob of protestors in Edinburgh's streets, except one. Inspector John Rebus's reputation precedes him, so while Presidents Bush and Putin confer in isolated splendor, Rebus mans an empty police station, where he can't offend any visiting dignitaries.

When a delegate falls to his death during a dinner at Edinburgh Castle, Rebus is given what looks like a simple suicide report to write. Even as he keeps it out of the headlines, Rebus probes where no probing is wanted and investigates the death of a recently paroled rapist, murdered in a particularly grisly fashion. The discovery of more bodies leads Rebus to consider an unexpected and politically unacceptable possibility.

A state-of-the-world novel peopled by real characters, THE NAMING OF THE DEAD is Rebus's most challenging case yet, and Edgar Award winner Ian Rankin at his very best.

The Naming of the Dead