cover image of The New Space Opera

The New Space Opera

by Gardner Dozois Editor · Jonathan Strahan Editor


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

This dazzling anthology includes epic interstellar adventures, tales of space and wonder, from some of the brightest names in science fiction. Authors include Kage Baker, Stephen Baxter, Gregory Benford, Tony Daniel, Greg Egan, Peter F. Hamilton, Gwyneth Jones, James Patrick Kelly, Nancy Kress, Ken Macleod, Paul J. McAuley, Ian McDonald, Robert Reed, Alastair Reynolds, Mary Rosenblum, Robert Silverberg, Dan Simmons, and Walter Jon Williams.

Publication Details

Blackstone Publishing
Blackstone Audio, Inc., and Buck 50 Productions, LLC
Publication Date:


  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 647.8 MB
  • OverDrive Listen 647.7 MB

Gardner Dozois (Editor)

Gardner Dozois, one of the most acclaimed editors in science fiction, has won the Hugo Award for Best Professional Editor fifteen times, as well as the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award. He was the editor of Asimov's Science Fiction magazine for twenty ...

More about Gardner Dozois

Jonathan Strahan (Editor)

Jonathan Strahan is the editor of more than forty books, including the Locus and Aurealis award–winning anthologies The Starry Rift, Life on Mars, The New Space Opera (Vols. 1 & 2), the bestselling The Locus Awards (with Charles N. Brown), and the...

More about Jonathan Strahan

Kage Baker (Contributor)

Ken MacLeod is an award-winning science fiction writer. His novels have won the Prometheus Award and the British Science Fiction Association Award and have been nominated for the Hugo and Nebula Awards. He is the author of more than a dozen novels...

More about Kage Baker

Ian McDonald (Contributor)

Paul J. McAuley is widely considered among the best of the new breed of British writers of what is known as "radical hard science fiction." He is the winner of numerous science fiction writing awards, including the Philip K. Dick Award for his fir...

More about Ian McDonald

Peter F. Hamilton (Contributor)

James Patrick Kelly is the Hugo, Nebula, and Italia award–winning author of Burn, Think Like a Dinosaur, and Wildlife. He is a member of the faculty of the Stonecoast Creative Writing MFA Program at the University of Southern Maine. He is the tech...

More about Peter F. Hamilton

Ken MacLeod (Contributor)

Alastair Reynolds is a bestselling author and has been awarded the British Science...

More about Ken MacLeod

Greg Egan (Contributor)

Peter F. Hamilton is the author of numerous novels, including several series and stand-alone novels. He began writing in 1987 and sold his first short story to Fear magazine in 1988.

More about Greg Egan

Paul J. McAuley (Contributor)

Kage Baker (1952–2010) was an artist, actor, and director at the Living History Centre and taught Elizabethan English as a second language.

More about Paul J. McAuley

Gwyneth Jones (Contributor)

Ian McDonald is the author of highly acclaimed science fiction novels. He has been a three-time winner of the British Science Fiction Association Award and has won the Locus Award, the Theodore Sturgeon Award, the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, ...

More about Gwyneth Jones

Robert Reed (Contributor)

Greg Egan is a computer programmer and the author of the acclaimed science fiction novels Permutation City, Diaspora, Teranesia, Quarantine, and the Orthogonal trilogy. He has won the Hugo Award as well as the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. Greg...

More about Robert Reed


Editor :
Gardner Dozois
Editor :
Jonathan Strahan
Contributor :
Kage Baker
Contributor :
Dan Simmons
Narrator :
Kevin Kenerly
Narrator :
Tom Taylorson
Contributor :
Gregory Benford
Contributor :
James Patrick Kelly
Narrator :
Carrington MacDuffie
Contributor :
Nancy Kress
Narrator :
Peter Macon
Narrator :
Pamela Garelick
Contributor :
Ian McDonald
Narrator :
Richard Powers
Contributor :
Peter F. Hamilton
Contributor :
Alastair Reynolds
Contributor :
Mary Rosenblum
Narrator :
Caroline Shaffer
Contributor :
Stephen Baxter
Contributor :
Ken MacLeod
Narrator :
Tom Weiner
Contributor :
Greg Egan
Narrator :
Various Narrators
Contributor :
Paul J. McAuley
Narrator :
Tristan Morris
Contributor :
Tony Daniel
Contributor :
Gwyneth Jones
Contributor :
Walter Jon Williams
Contributor :
Robert Reed
Contributor :
Robert Silverberg
Narrator :
Cat Gould
Narrator :
Carlos Lopez
Narrator :
Erica Sullivan
The New Space Opera
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free