Meet Libby. Learn more here
We want your feedback!
Click here
Cover Image

Escape from Freedom

by Erich Fromm

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Why do people choose authoritarianism over freedom? The classic study of the psychological appeal of fascism by a New York Times–bestselling author.

The pursuit of freedom has indelibly marked Western culture since Renaissance humanism and Protestantism began the fight for individualism and self-determination. This freedom, however, can make people feel unmoored, and is often accompanied by feelings of isolation, fear, and the loss of self, all leading to a desire for authoritarianism, conformity, or destructiveness.

It is not only the question of freedom that makes Fromm's debut book a timeless classic. In this examination of the roots of Nazism and fascism in Europe, Fromm also explains how economic and social constraints can also lead to authoritarianism.
By the author of The Sane Society and The Anatomy of Human Destructiveness, this is a fascinating examination of the anxiety that underlies our darkest impulses, an enlightening volume perfect for readers of Eric Hoffer or Hannah Arendt.

This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erich Fromm including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author's estate.

Publication Details

Publisher:
Open Road Media
Publication Date:
2013

Format

  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 1.8 MB

Erich Fromm (Author)

Erich Fromm (1900-1980) was a bestselling psychoanalyst and social philosopher whose views about alienation, love, and sanity in societydiscussed in his books such as Escape from Freedom, The Art of Loving, The Sane Society, and To Have or To Be?h...

More about Erich Fromm
Escape from Freedom
Copy and paste the code into your website.