cover image of The Golem and the Djinni

The Golem and the Djinni

by Helene Wecker

ebook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
THESE NEWCOMERS ARE DIFFERENT. THEY WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING. For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. 'By far my favourite book of of the year' Guardian 'One of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' Barbara Kingsolver One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again. But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop. Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world. A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinni asks us what we're made of and how we can break free.

Publication Details

Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint:
The Borough Press
Publication Date:
2013

Format

  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 597 KB

Helene Wecker (Author)

Helene Wecker grew up near Chicago, and received her MFA in Creative Writing from Columbia University in New York. Her work has been published in the online magazine Joyland, and she has read from her stories at the KGB Bar in New York and the Bar...

More about Helene Wecker
The Golem and the Djinni
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free