ebook The Inkheart Trilogy, Book 1 · Inkworld

By Cornelia Funke

cover image of Inkheart

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:



A gorgeous edition of the first book in Cornelia Funke's internationally celebrated trilogy – magical, thrilling and mesmerising.

Pre-order the latest installment in the Inkheart series: The Colour of Revenge - coming in October 2024.

'I don't think I've ever read anything that conveys so well the joys, terrors and pitfalls of reading.' Diana Wynne Jones, author of Howl's Moving Castle

'One of the outstanding children's novels of the year.' The Times

'A breathtakingly fast-moving tale.' The Independent

Meggie loves stories, but her father, Mo, hasn't read to her since her mother disappeared.

When a stranger knocks at their door, Mo is forced to reveal an extraordinary secret – when he reads aloud, words come alive, and dangerous characters step out of the pages.

Suddenly Meggie is living the kind of adventure she has only read about in books, but this one will change her life for ever ...

  • A thrilling and magical adventure about stories and the imagination they inspire.
  • Cornelia Funke is the critically-acclaimed, internationally bestselling author of Dragon Rider and The Thief Lord.
  • Also a major feature film from the makers of The Lord of the Rings, starring Andy Serkis, Paul Bettany and Brendan Fraser!
  • The adventure continues in Inkspell and Inkdeath.
  • Pre-order the spectacular tale that returns to the world of Inkheart and fall in love with the series all over again. The Colour of Revenge, coming October 2024! 978-1-913696-18-4.
  • Inkheart