cover image of Swansong/Ennui/Bananas/Where the Carpet Ends

Swansong/Ennui/Bananas/Where the Carpet Ends


by Shena Mackay


Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

In 'Swansong', Louisa has returned to her home town to attend the funeral of a friend, but she is distracted by memories of a man she once knew and the sheer number of swans in the town's charity shops.

'Ennui' tells the possible story of an artistic couple from the early 20th century.

In 'Bananas', a timid grandmother finds herself increasingly embarrassed by the attentions of the exuberant local foreign shopkeeper whom she has secretly christened 'Bananas'.

In 'Where the Carpet Ends', Miss Agnew lives in the rafters of an Eastbourne hotel, amongst eccentric characters drawn together in their 'reduced circumstances'. Stifled by her stale and impoverished surroundings, she dreams of change.

Part of the Storycuts series, these four stories were previously published in the collection The Atmospheric Railway.

Publication Details

Random House
Vintage Digital
Publication Date:


  • OverDrive Read 407.3 KB
  • Adobe EPUB eBook 407.3 KB

Shena Mackay (Author)

Shena Mackay was born in Edinburgh. She is the author of four previous collections of stories - Babies in Rhinestones, Dreams of Dead Women's Handbags, The Laughing Academy and The World's Smallest Unicorn. Her novels include Dunedin, The Orchard ...

More about Shena Mackay
Swansong/Ennui/Bananas/Where the Carpet Ends
Copy and paste the code into your website.
New here? Learn how to read digital books for free